Dedicated to Traditional Photographic Processes.
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Using Caffenol by Tom Overton

Go down

Using Caffenol by Tom Overton Empty Using Caffenol by Tom Overton

Post by Admin Thu Jan 01, 2009 3:29 pm

Early in my career as a musician, I had the great pleasure of meeting noted American composer John Cage. His message, distilled to a very few words, was to embrace the unusual elements that chance brings to the performance of music. Now, some thirty years later, I find the same advice applies with equally delightful results in the darkroom.

Shortly after I began developing my own film, I started finding references to using Folger’s coffee as a film developer. Naturally, I wondered if the process could be applied equally to darkroom printing. Unfortunately, most of what I read on the subject was not very encouraging. Not the type to be so easily put off, I mixed up a batch of standard Caffenol film developer and gave it a shot.

Standard Caffenol Film developer:
  • Water – 8 oz
  • Arm & Hammer Washing Soda – 2 tsp
  • Folgers Coffee Crystals – 4 tsp

My first attempt, a shot of the Chicago Water Tower, under the shadow of the Hancock building, was a far greater success than I had any right to hope. Having had no real preconception of what, if anything, Caffenol prints would look like, I couldn’t have been happier. Not only was there an image on the paper, but it was suffused with surreal blotches, streaks and swirls. John Cage would have been proud.

Chicago Towers
Using Caffenol by Tom Overton Chicag10
Fig. 1: Chicago Towers, ©️2007 printed approximately 3-5 minutes on long outdated Kodak Polymax RC paper.